Sunday, December 04, 2016

Scott Golden elected Republican State Party Chairman, beating Brent Leatherwood

He was nominated at Saturday's TN GOP State Executive Committee by Shannon Hayes, SEC member from Shelby County, and that nomination was seconded by Williamson County SEC member Rebecca Ann Burke.

Scott previously was field staff for Congressman Marsha Blackburn (TN Congressional District 7) and Congressman Stephen Fincher (TN Congressional District 8).

Other office holders elected were Vice Chairman Jennifer Little, Secretary Pat Allen, Treasurer Frank Colvett and Vice Treasurer Beth Scott Clayton. 

Scott Golden elected new Tennessee GOP chairman 

by  Nate Rau, The Tennessean - A divided Tennessee Republican Party executive committee elected Scott Golden as its new chairman in a race that took place under the specter of President-elect Donald Trump. ......the executive committee was divided as to who should lead the party. Golden, a former staffer to U.S. Reps. Marsha Blackburn and Stephen Fincher edged out executive director Brent Leatherwood in a runoff vote from inside the conference room at the Holiday Inn on West End Avenue. The final vote was 33 for Golden, 26 for Leatherwood and one undecided. Golden and Leatherwood advanced the runoff by edging out Bill Giannini, deputy commissioner for the Department of Commerce, in the initial round of voting by the executive committee. (more)

Stumble Upon Toolbar
My Zimbio
Top Stories

No comments:

Post a Comment